Listen
ABC Radio Apps - easy access to 20+ stations

Mar 01 - Mar 17, 2013
2013 Adelaide Festival

Glen Hansard

From March 1 - 17, Adelaide is set to come alive with its annual festival of music, arts, dance and theatre.

In 2013, the Adelaide Festival will deliver a wide range of great music as part of its program, including an opening night free event with Paul Kelly and Neil Finn, a visit from the legendary Van Dyke Parks, the Irish contingent of Glen Hansard and Lisa Hannigan and several appearances by Laurie Anderson.

ABC Dig Music is a media supporter for the Glen Hansard and Van Dyke Parks shows at the Festival.

To celebrate Hansard's debut solo release, Rhythm and Repose, he takes to the stage with The Frames and special guest, Irish singer Lisa Hannigan. See an interview from the ABC Dig Music archives with Glen Hansard here.

Glen Hansard plays on Saturday March 16 at Her Majesty's Theatre

Performing a career-retrospective of songs from albums such as Song Cycle, Discover America and Clang of the Yankee Reaper, Van Dyke Parks will be accompanied by the Adelaide Art Orchestra and will feature a special guest appearance by silverchair frontman Daniel Johns and other special guests yet to be announced.

Van Dyke Parks plays on Friday March 8 at the Thebarton Theatre

-----

Glen Hansard Australasian Tour Dates: 

Saturday March 9
Port Fairy Folk Festival, Port Fairy VIC (Solo)

Sunday March 10
Port Fairy Folk Festival, Port Fairy VIC (Solo)

Wednesday March 13
Great Hall, Auckland Arts Festival, New Zealand 

Saturday March 16
Her Majesty’s Theatre, Adelaide Festival, SA

Wednesday March 20
Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne VIC

Thursday March 21
Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne VIC

Saturday March 23
Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne VIC
 
Monday March 25
Sydney Opera House, Sydney NSW 

Tuesday March 26
Sydney Opera House, Sydney NSW

Friday March 29
Bluesfest, Byron Bay NSW